Established in 1833, the Coal Mines site near Lime Bay provided a local supply of coal to the Port Arthur colony. Accommodating up to 600 convicts during its peak, the site is now reduced to a rich framework of ruins. Taking only 2 hours to complete, this circuit is a fascinating and informative stroll through gentle bushland. Starting and finishing from the picturesque grounds of the main settlement area, the circuit takes in the main points of interest within the Coal Mines Historic Site, including underground cells, the main shaft, the air shaft and many building ruins. While the walk time is reasonably short adding some additional time to explore each area is recommended.